A lesson learnt the hard way.

November 13, 2013 § Leave a comment

Life’s a series of crests and troughs,

Moments filling us with mirth and tears,

Lessons to be learnt at every turn,

As, birth to death, ahead it steers.

 

I came across a new bend this once,

I knew not what to do or say.

Life revealed how brittle it was,

When my dear Babaji passed away.

 

 

A man of strong will he was,

Mind over matter personified.

When life left him disabled too,

He just as well, took it in his stride.

 

An interesting life he had lead *sigh*

Wish I could but be there to see-

A freedom-rebel, a war veteran,

A doctor and scholar too was he!

 

But the best of him I did not miss-

That as my doting grandfather,

Spoiling us with sweets, games, ‘nd jokes,

Time with him was all love and laughter.

 

Years went by, and so did his health,

And though that never faltered his spirit,

I saw that wonderful man wither away,

And depart, as his suffering reached its limit.

 

There he lay in his glass casket,

Tranquility swept across his face.

As I stood there and watched him blur,

He seemed to smile with heavenly grace.

 

 

The next time I come back home,

I know I will not find him there.

But his presence, and his memories,

I will in my heart forever bear.

 

Life’s a series of crests and troughs,

Moments filling us with mirth and tears,

Lessons to be learnt at every turn,

As, birth to death, ahead it steers.

 

 

 

 

Almost an year has gone by Babaji. But I still miss you. This is for you.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A lesson learnt the hard way. at Confounded :/.

meta

